# **Student Rules & Regulations Committee**



# Rules and Regulations Committee Meeting December 2, 2022 Meeting Minutes

### Attendance:

**Voting Members Present:** Nick Farmer, Jerry Brown, Jacob Becker, Chris Cherry, Joe Dannenbaum, Fawaz Syed, Venesa Heidick, Josh Benson, Kate Scaief, Angie Hill Price, Trent Smith, Nick Hines, Kate Lester, Jennifer Lightfoot, Susan Phillips, Heather Ramsey, Anne Reber, Yaswant Devarakonda and Grace Townsend.

Voting Members Absent: Delisa Falks

Non-Voting Members Present: Darla Guerra, Neil Golemo and Amanda Mather

Chair-Elect: Dr. Kristen Harrell

The meeting was called to order at 3:02 pm by Anne Reber. Quorum was confirmed.

# 1. Minutes from the meeting on November 4, 2022, were approved.

- a) Anne Reber proposed grammar edits to November 4<sup>th</sup> minutes
- b) Motion to accept the November minutes with edits Heather Ramsey; Seconded by Kate Lester. Motion passed.

## 2. Status of pending rule revisions:

a) There are no rules in the queue.

#### 3. New Business

- a) **Rule 10 Grading** Submitter proposed that the term, *College of Medicine* be edited to read *School of Medicine* reflecting the recent change to its name. Secondly, it was proposed to add *HP: High Pass, 3.5 grade points per semester hour* to section 10.5.2.1 and 10.5.2.5. Venesa Heidick noted that proposed changes would need to be submitted through C.A.R.S. (Curricular Approval Request System). Once submitted through C.A.R.S, Venesa Heidick will notify SRRC. Motion to table Rule 10 until changes have been submitted and approved was made by Angie Hill Price; Seconded by Nick Farmer. Motion passed.
- b) Rule 11 Distinguished Students Submitter justification was read and discussion brought to light concerns regarding, when and why this rule originated and how it relates to the University as a whole. Motion to reject Rule 11 made by Angie Hill Price; seconded by Chris Cherry. Motion passed.

# 4. Other

a) Review of committee membership by-laws due to university centralization of divisions- It was confirmed that Venesa Heidick, Jennifer Lightfoot and Delisa Falks are now part of The Division of Finance and Business Services. Angie Hill Price and Grace Townsend will work with Faculty Senate/Executive Committee to update the by-laws as they pertain to membership of this committee.

- b) **Committee Vacancy** Anne Reber reminded Angie Price Hill that there is still a vacancy for faculty spot.
- c) **New Member introduction** Trent Smith will be replacing Rachel Krolczyk and will now represent the Graduate and Professional School.
- d) **January Meeting** Meeting set for January 13, 2023, Elect-Chair, Dr. Kristen Harrell will notify members if meeting is rescheduled or cancelled.

The meeting was adjourned at 3:57 pm.

Motion to adjourn – Joe Dannenbaum; Second – Nick Farmer