Student Rules & Regulations Committee



Rules and Regulations Committee Meeting May 6, 2022 Meeting Minutes

Attendance

Voting Members Present: Anne Reber, Jacob Becker, Chris Cherry, Joe Dannenbaum, Colin Guisti, Venesa Heidick,

Rachel Krolczyk, Christopher Lee, Jennifer Lightfoot, Rita Moyes, Susan Phillips, Heather

Ramsey, Grace Townsend

Voting Members Absent: Blessing Aiyegoro, Jerry Brown, Delisa Falks, Meghan Hein, Mamie Hertel, Angie Hill Price,

Kate Lester, Nathan Shelley

Non-Voting Members Present: Yuan Huanshu, Darla Guerra, Neil Golemo, Amanda Mather, Asia Smith

Guests: None.

The meeting was called to order at 3:03pm by Anne Reber. Quorum was confirmed.

- 1. Minutes from the meeting on March 4, 2022 were approved as distributed.
 - a. There was no meeting in April 2022 due to lack of business for review.

2. New Business

- a. Dates for summer meetings. Confirmed that we would meet on the following dates if there were business that needs attention:
 - i. June 3, 2022
 - ii. July 15, 2022
 - iii. August 5, 2022
- b. Editorial updates to Student Rules website. Anne Reber reported that her staff would use the summer months to "clean up" typos, grammar, title changes (e.g., OGAPS), formatting errors, broken links, etc. in the rules. Angie Hill Price requested that a list of these updates be provided to the committee.

3. Other

a. TAMU Galveston representative, Asia Smith, introduced a concern related to students who repeatedly persist in asking faculty/instructors for grade forgiveness, extra credit to raise grades, etc. Also known as "grade grubbing." Some faculty/instructors feel the students' behavior can feel harassing at times. Discussion ensued and it was agreed upon that current Student Rules can address this behavior and other recommendations included: sharing the situation with the Aggie Honor System Office or Student Conduct Office (so those staff could review for potential rule violations), faculty/instructors need to set up their own guidelines and stick to them, use these situations as "teachable moments" between faculty and student.

The meeting was adjourned at 3:52pm.

Motion to adjourn – Rita Moyes; Second – Joe Dannenbaum.