Student Rules & Regulations Committee



Rules and Regulations Committee Meeting August 7, 2020 Meeting Minutes

Attendance:

Voting Members Present: Anne Reber, Jerry Brown, Chris Cherry, Rebekah Chenelle, Joe Dannenbaum, Meghan Hein, Venesa Heidick, Angie Hill Price, Bridgette Ingram (for Delisa Falks), Rachel Krolczyk, Beryl Mohanadhas, Rio O'Neal, Susan Phillips, and Allison Smith

Voting Members Absent: Jennifer Lightfoot, Rita Moyes, Sarah Rodriguez, Mark Sicilio, and Mason Smith

Non-Voting Members Present: Blair Alvarado, Darla Guerra, Huanshu Yuan

Guests: None

The meeting was called to order at 3:05 pm by Anne Reber. Quorum was confirmed.

- 1. Minutes from the meeting on June 5, 2020 were approved.
 - a. Motion to accept the minutes Angie Hill Price; Second Joe Dannenbaum
- 2. Old Business
 - a. Rule 41 Student Organizations Approved by President's Office
 - Rule 42 Activities of University Recognized Student Organizations Approved by President's Office
- 3. New Business
 - a. Rule 11 Distinguished Students
 - Discussion: Brought up in previous rule changes. Faculty representatives reported being satisfied with the 15 hour minimum referencing the expectations and rigor associated with Texas A&M curriculum.
 - ii. Motion to reject rule proposal Angie Hill Price; Second Susan Phillips.
 - iii. Dr. Reber to notify submitter.

b. Rule 1.9 Student Registration

- i. Discussion: Venesa Heidick, Registrar, provided additional justification pointing to current Texas legislation (senate bill); wording of the rule to reflect the legislative bill.
- ii. Motion to accept rule proposal Joe Dannenbaum; Second Susan Phillips.
- c. Other Business None.

The meeting was adjourned at 3:26 pm

Motion – Angie Hill Price; Second Joe Dannebaum – Motion to adjourn approved.